Congratulations to 2018 Runnels National Honor Society Inductees!


The Runnels High School chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) welcomed 23 students to the organization at a formal induction ceremony held in the Gladys Hague Runnels Theatre April 11.
The new members are junior Jillian Edmonson and sophomores Matthew Alfonso, Catherine Bonaventure, Jenna Carballo, Annie Fink, Sam Haase, Rachel Hargrove, Karli Hebert, Eric Ho, Bailey Hyatt, Jack Kahn, Cole Latiolais, Phillip Lukinovich, Ryan Ly, Anna Manning, Erin Oehrle, Julia Sager, Andrew Schacht, Jane Schlotterer, Ian Shaneyfelt, John Michael Spillane, Natalia Tooraen and Aubri Watts.
Also recognized at the ceremony were the incoming officers for the 2018-2019 school year. They were sworn into office by the outgoing NHS officers. The new officers are Emma Tooraen, president; Kayla Evans, vice president; Anna Claire Pousson and Daniel Mayeaux, co-secretaries; and Alex Morgan, treasurer.
The National Honor Society recognizes high school students who maintain a 3.5 GPA in core classes and have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service and character. 
Sponsors for NHS at Runnels are Norma Marsh and Colleen Leblanc.